Skip to content

The Odyssey–A Graphic Novel by Gareth Hinds

November 11, 2010

Sorry folks…it’s been a long time since my last posting here. I’ve spent so much time on my other blogs including: “Holiday Decorations” and “Things We Need (to Get Us Thru the Day)” that I’ve neglected of some of my other sites–mainly this one–“Just My Eyes”.

Today I’m going give you a chance to “meet” Gareth Hinds and his wonderful retelling of Homer’s Epic poem, The Odyssey.

I’ll be interviewing him tonight on my radio show, “Graffiti”, at 7 pm on WNYE, heard here in New York on 91.5 FM. Or, if you aren’t lucky enough to be by a radio, you can always hear it over the internet at the Hellenic Public Radio/CosmosFM’s website. Of course, in a week or so, you’ll be able to hear it right here at “Just My Eyes”.

I don’t have the time or the knowledge to really get into why The Odyssey is so popular: Why it’s been tackled by some of the great translators and minds over the centuries and why it’s endured for over 2,5oo years. Yes, it is a great action and adventure yarn, but I think the secret to its longevity is that it’s also a story that anyone can identify with–it’s the story of  the desire…the NEED…to get home. Maybe the best word to describe it is LONGING.

As many of you may have heard me say on “Graffiti” my favorite word in ancient Greek is Nostos. It means “returning” or “going home” but in the sense of going home to one’s roots. It is about one’s attachment to the land where you live. It’s about returning to what has made you–YOU. It is the root of the word nostalgia but should never be confused with the idea we, of today, have built into that particular word.

Click here for the link to the website for Gareth Hinds.

Click here for the link to the website for Candlewick Press.

Gareth mentions the Xeric Grant he received during the course of our conversation. For more info click here.


Finally!!!! Click here to go to the webpage with the complete interview with Gareth Hinds.


Oh, and two final thoughts. The first is obvious: it is to remind you to check back here in a week or so to hear the interview if, for any reason, you miss it tonight. The second, though, is to say that another reason I haven’t had much time to write this blog (other than doing the other two blogs–and a third one I’ve been neglecting as badly as this) is that I’ve been working on some films. One recently debuted at the “Big Apple Film Festival” entitled: Cici Artist. It was written by me and directed, filmed and edited by my good friend of the same name: Cici Artist. That’s pronounced CHEE-CHEE, by the way.

The other film I’ve been working on finally made it to Youtube and you can see it if you click here.

Thanks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 8:32 pm

    Hi Bill, I like the post. I put a link up on my blog. I’m getting into graphic novels myself, and going at it as a real hobbyist/amateur. Keep up all the positive posting – interviewing authors and artists must be exciting!

    Check it out, and keep up all the good work.
    http://zombie-dinosaurs.blogspot.com/2011/01/sad-for-superman-opining-on-odyssey-and.html

Trackbacks

  1. Tonight, a repeat of a conversation I had with the graphic novelist, Gareth Hinds way back in November of 2010. Dec. 8, 2016 | Just My Eyes

Leave a comment