Skip to content

A Conversation with Meg Cotner, author of “Food Lovers’ Guide to Queens”, July 18, 2013

July 18, 2013

9780762781188

This is one of those programs that I absolutely love doing. First, and foremost, it’s about a topic I love: food. In this case: GREAT food.

What I also love about it is the writing. Yes, I guess I should tell you, if you haven’t already read the title of this entry, that tonight I’ll be talking to Meg Cotner about her recently released book: Food Lovers’ Guide to Queens. Meg is a superb writer. She’s upbeat, interesting, entertaining and, above all, informative. Notescarole-white-bean-and-meatball-soup only did I learn scads about the great food and where to find it in Queens—I also learned about Tamara Reynolds and her Underground Supper Club, how to eat a soup dumpling and the Ganesh Hindu Temple in Flushing.

The worst part of this was that every time I picked up the book and started reading I had to resist the urge to hop into my car and drive down to Queens to find some of these places and test the wares I was reading about. Actually it ended up being a toss-up over which was worse between that and my constant drooling. Not a pretty sight.

meg-champagne-crop-235x300Food Lovers’ Guide to Queens has been a revelation and a treat and I can’t say that about many of the books I read.

Remember to tune in tonight at 7pm to WNYE, 91.5 fm, to hear our conversation in its entirety or CLICK HERE to listen to it as it streams live over the internet.

Click here to find out more about the book at the publisher’s (Globe Pequot) website

Click here for Meg’s website

Click here for the Harmonious Belly website

Click here for We Heart Astoria’s website

Click here for Hellgate CSA

Click here for an explanation of a CSA

Click here for an article written about Meg and the book that was in the New York Daily News

Click here to listen to our conversation from July 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

