Skip to content

Preview of the January 28 Graffiti: Viktor Koen speaks about his Grandmother–a Holocaust survivor

January 25, 2010

Sylvia is a series of photographs shot in the spring of 2004 in Poland from the Auschwitz, Birkenau, Majdanek, and Treblinka concentration-camp sites. Sylvia is my maternal grandmother’s name, an Auschwitz inmate and survivor. Sylvia was also in Auschwitz (her third visit since liberation) while I was shooting, guiding the Greek “March of the Living” delegation through the camp.
Viktor Koen, January 2010


About three weeks ago I got a phone call from my friend, the artist, Viktor Koen. He told me he had an opening at the end of January at the Greek Consulate General in New York for The Holocaust Remembrance Day event taking place on Thursday, January 28th. We spoke for a few more minutes but I was in a hurry so I told him to send me some information about it. A few days later I opened an e-mail from Viktor and found some of the pictures that will be shown. A short time after that there was another e-mail from him–part of which I’ve excerpted above.

The Holocaust Commemoration event will take place on Thursday, January 28th, 6-8pm at the Consulate General located at 69 East 79th Street in Manhattan. It will be there through February 12th.

If you cannot attend the opening please listen to the interview Viktor and I recorded that will air on opening night, Thursday, January 28th at 7pm on WNYE, 91.5 fm.

Click here to listen to excerpts from the interview.


Leave a Reply

