Skip to content

Graffiti’s Year End Wrap Up Show

December 31, 2009

It seems that we were just celebrating the advent of a new year–the coming of 2009. Where has 2009 gone? The good thing is, that for me at least, 2009 was a great year. Better than any year I can remember in the recent past.

I had an article published–a photo/comic/collage–of my trip to Washington, DC for the inauguration last January.

Then a chance comment to a friend opened an unexpected door and I received a grant to purchase a video camera. For me this was a dream-come-true. I’ve been interested in film and film making for as long as I can remember. Back in the late 60‘s-early 70‘s when I was in college, all the talk was of the coming video revolution; how everyone would own a video camera and be making their own individual films. We all thought the price of video cameras was going to drop drastically making it very affordable and all very doable in just few years’ time. Unfortunately the technology wasn’t quite as quick as our dreams and it would be decades yet before cameras were really inexpensive and computer editing and outlets like Youtube really brought about the Video Revolution.

I’ve been video taping some poets, authors and others for a group I’m involved with, PoemAlley, up in Stamford, CT. The first video is now available on Youtube.

“Graffiti”, my show on Hellenic Public Radio, for those of you who might be new to this blog, also blossomed this year. Maybe it wasn’t the show that blossomed as much as I did. Ever since my first show back in 1992 I’ve been comfortable behind that mic. This year I was as excited as I’ve ever been but I’ve also felt more in command of my craft.

Here is a list of the new shows I produced this year and if available links to the shows or links to links for the shows. What’s a link to a link you ask? Well that’s another thing I started this year that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed–blogging.

For years friends have been telling me I should be blogging–and since you are reading this you can see that I finally decided to take up their suggestion. As of August of this year I did not have a blog or really know how to start one. Since then I’ve now started four blogs: This one “Just My Eyes” (https://billbuschel.wordpress.com/), “Things We Need (to make it thru the day)” (http://thingsweneed.tumblr.com/), “Just So…” (http://billbuschel.tumblr.com/) and “Holiday Decorations” (http://bestxmasdecorations.wordpress.com/).

“Just My Eyes” is my take on the world as I see it. It’s also where I put my “Graffiti” programs. “Things We Need (to make it thru the day)” is a gathering place for the goofy and the informational things I find interesting. “Just So…” is a place where I put some of the photos I’ve taken over the years. “Holiday Decorations”, though the last blog I started, was actually the one that got me thinking about blogging.

I love driving around around at Christmas time. I spend hours every year looking at all the holiday decorations. I love them…all of them. The gorgeous and the ghastly. Last year I mentioned to a friend who’d joined me on one of my night-time drives that I’d like to document some of them in a blog. Mind you I didn’t really know what a blog was but I thought that this had to be the type of thing that would be perfect in one. I didn’t start there but the seed was planted.

My first blog (Just My Eyes) started with documenting the interview I did with Tom Stone and Chris Cassel for the History Channel’s presentation of the series: “Clash of the Gods”. I had no idea what I was doing but once I got the hang of it it was loads of fun.

List of shows:
January 22, Marie Phillips, author of “Gods Behaving Badly”.
February 19, Scott Huler, author of “No Man’s Lands”.
March 5, Anthoula Katsimatides, star of “3PennyYouth”.
March 19, A new translation of Cavafy by Aliki Barnstone.
April 16, The Easter Program, readings from the Bible.
June 11, The singer, Alkinoos Ioannidis.
June 25, The death of Michael Jackson and reading poetry.
July 9, Another new translation of Cavafy, readings from the Daniel Mendelsohn edition.
August 6, Tom Stone and Chris Cassel, “Clash of the Gods”
August 20, An interview with Alexandros Lambrovassilis, Chris Kuklis and Luke Damrosch.
September 3, Scott Reynolds, Director of Handcart Ensemble’s production of “The Odyssey”
October 1, Beth Bernobich, author of “Medusa at Morning”
October 29, Fund-raising with Anthoula, Sergio Salvatore and Christos Rafalides.
November 19, The 100th anniversary of the birth of Ritsos with Prof. Peter Bien
December 17, Chris Cokinos, author of “The Fallen Sky: An Intimate History of Shooting Stars”

I apologize to anyone who came here earlier looking for tonight’s program. Click here for that.

Of course there were plenty of programs dedicated to fund-raising and a few that were repeats of earlier shows.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

