Skip to content

Teach your parents well…

October 19, 2009

You, who are on the road must have a code that you can live by.

And so become yourself because the past is just a good bye.

Teach your children well, their father’s hell did slowly go by,

And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix, the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,

So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

And you, of the tender years can’t know the fears that your elders grew by,

And so please help them with your youth, they seek the truth before they can die.

Teach your parents well, their children’s hell will slowly go by,

And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix,the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,

So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

Teach Your Children

Graham Nash

I’m feeling incredibly optimistic about the future today.  I’m fortunate to have many friends who are in their 20‘s and when I think about the future in their hands I’m thrilled.  As I said to one friend (my age) earlier today I’d give my left (choose an appropriate–or even, inappropriate–body part) to be around when the “20 somethings” turn 60, as I will at the end of February, 2010.

I marvel as I watch their fingers fly over the computer keyboard as they bring up interesting videos for me to watch, or bits of information that would have taken me HOURS in a library to find (if it was available at all) when I was their age.

Ah, “their age”.  I think part of the problem my generation has with the future, at least those of my generation that harp on the fact that “their generation” can’t write, can’t sit still for more than 10 minutes (except in front of a computer screen), doesn’t know anything about WWII, or, heaven forbid, the “dark ages” before WWII, rests in the fact that like our parents (you remember those people we said we couldn’t trust because they were over 35) we’ve become “those people over 35”.  Well over 35, I might add.  I’m sure our parents thought we’d be a disaster because WE did dope, WE slept around, WE didn’t have the benefit of their years.  Their experiences.  Their trials and tribulations.  And you know, maybe they were right.  How have we, our generation, made the world better?  Don’t get me wrong.  IT IS BETTER!  We’ve elected a black President.  An utter impossibility only 20 years ago (and honestly, though I’ve been tracking Obama’s career for many years, I didn’t think America–or more accurately–Middle America–was ready to accept a black man for at least another four years).  We have women in positions of authority something that would have been impossible 50 years ago.  We also have a record number of people hungry.  We can’t feed the world’s population–something we should easily be able to do.  Well, maybe not “easily”, but something we were certainly capable of doing.

Maybe the two best things we’ve produced are the computer and the “20 something” generation that will make it “fly” so the world will be an even better place tomorrow.

By the by, I haven’t given up on my generation.

People try to put us d-down (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

Just because we get around (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

Things they do look awful c-c-cold (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

I hope I die before I get old (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

This is my generation

This is my generation, baby

Why don’t you all f-fade away (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

And don’t try to dig what we all s-s-say (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

I’m not trying to cause a big s-s-sensation (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

I’m just talkin’ ’bout my g-g-g-generation (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

This is my generation

This is my generation, baby

Why don’t you all f-fade away (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

And don’t try to d-dig what we all s-s-say (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

I’m not trying to cause a b-big s-s-sensation (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

I’m just talkin’ ’bout my g-g-generation (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

This is my generation

This is my generation, baby

People try to put us d-down (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

Just because we g-g-get around (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

Things they do look awful c-c-cold (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

Yeah, I hope I die before I get old (Talkin’ ’bout my generation)

This is my generation

This is my generation, baby

My Generation

Pete Townshend

Here’s an example of our bright future:  The Solar Decathlon.

2009 Solar Decathlon

2009 Solar Decathlonbb

10/19/09

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom Mellana permalink
    October 19, 2009 3:00 pm

    PETE TOWNSHEND WRITING A NEW MUSICAL
    “As a 19 year old – with My Generation – I wrote the most explicitly ageist song in rock,” wrote Pete Townshend in his latest blog entry. “At 64, I now want to take on ageing and mortality, using the powerfully angry context of rock ‘n’ roll”.

    • billbuschel permalink*
      October 19, 2009 3:13 pm

      Tom, thanks for the quotation! Can’t wait to hear Pete’s newest.

      bb

  2. Tom Mellana permalink
    October 19, 2009 3:03 pm

    I sent that last post before finising it:

    Just wanted to add that Pete posted that on The Who’s Web site over the weekend. If Pete’s passionate abouta writing project, and it sounds like he is, I can’t wait to hear the results. I just hope he includes Daltrey, forever and always the best interpreter of his work.

Leave a Reply

